Meet Ashley Ching!

I caught up with the lovely makeup artist Ashley Ching to talk about her and her involvement with CAISA Fashion Show.

DP

 

How did you start doing makeup?

In grade 9, I had this friend who was extremely beautiful. One day, I saw her without makeup and was in awe of the power of makeup to transform a person. To this day I still believe that makeup is art; it will not change who you are. It only helps to enhance what you already have and make you feel more confident.

How you started making videos on Youtube?

It all started with me making a video to teach my friend how to do her makeup to improve her confidence with talking to a guy! A few friends suggested that I make the video public, so I posted it on Facebook and Youtube. The hundreds of views that began pouring in surprised me, and I decided to keep going and see what happens.

How did Youtube become so successful and what were some difficulties?

There was a point when I was confused about the direction I was going in. There were critical comments that sometimes accused me of being too similar to other artists. I decided to take that criticism constructively; I bought better video equipment, spent more time editing the videos, and found a style that made me distinct from other makeup gurus. I spend up to three hours creating the videos and two hours uploading, and that effort has definitely paid off.

What are some of your endeavors other than Youtube?

I did a lot of weddings and photoshoots. This summer, I’m going to makeup school to become a certified makeup artist. This is a big step towards the direction of my dream, and I’m very excited for it.

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 10.53.55 PM

How did you become involved with CFS?

I was actually a model manager with CFS last year, and I was able to put my skills to good use with last year’s show. However, now that I know that I want to focus on make-up art, I’m focusing my efforts on just that.

What are you contributing to CFS this year?

 I’ve done makeup for the American Apparel mini-shoots as well as the lookbook photoshoots for three scenes. I’m excited to be doing some work for the main show when the day draws closer!

What is your favourite thing about working with CFS?

It’s definitely the people that I get to work with. The CFS team makes you feel good about working, and seeing how dedicated they are to their work is very inspiring.

Finally, who is someone you look up to?

I’d have to say Ashlee Firsten, creator of Aromachology. She was an engineering student who graduated in 2003. I’ve never met her, but her professor talked about her all the time. When I think ofher and how she started her own business, I remember that you can achieve anything.

Keep up with Ashley:

http://www.l0vee.com
http://www.youtube.com/l0vee

 

Leave a Reply

