Why CFS: Alumnae Edition I

984060_10156786175325389_7509221338111133551_n

Elvis Chen: Marketing Director 2016
How Many Years Have You Been on the CFS Team?
2 years on the team
What Stood Out From Your Experience on CFS?
CFS not only expanded my friendships but gave me another family
What Other Positions Did you Hold Besides CFS?
I’ve been a residence soph and a club president but nothing compares to being a CFS Director
What Did you Learn from CFS?
CFS has taught me to do something different but be exceptional and not afraid to be bold
Currently: Marketing Analyst at Canada Goose

10857912_779416002132336_4525826976005025572_n

Rochelle Menezes: Public Relations Director 2015
How Many Years Have You Been on the CFS Team?
2 years on the team
What Stood Out From Your Experience on CFS?
CFS is more than just another extra-curricular to fill your time between classes and waiting in line at The Ceeps. The CFS Experience will provide you with some of your best Western memories while also giving you great real- life experience for when you leave the ivy- covered campus. Plus, you will make some pretty beautiful friends both inside and out! 
What Did you Learn from CFS?
Tuesday will become your favourite day! 
Currently: Moved to Spain for a summer and now working in advertising for Tim Hortons

11251902_10155476050185109_4783442213164194527_n

Emma Bruni: Executive Director 2015
How Many Years Have You Been on the CFS Team?
4 years on the team
How did your CFS Experience Shape Your Western Experinece?
CAISA Fashion show was (is) my passion, my friend group, my family and quite a lot of my education. After joining in my first year, I knew that CFS would be a huge part of my Western experience- and it was. As a tight-knit team all passionate about the same cause (and fashion!) it was easy to spend all our time together- studying, Spoke, bar nights, etc. It was SO fun. I also say with confidence that I would be nowhere near the teammate, creative thinker, business executor and leader that I am today without CFS.
How did your CFS Experience Help you After Graduation?
100% yes! I spoke in detail about my work with CFS in every interview I received. Quite a lot of Western grads in the workforce know CFS by name- the reputation it has is far reaching and speaks for itself (“that team does SUCH a great job!”) In terms of skills learned, here are just a few: project management, creative direction, public speaking, financial analysis, production planning, client/stakeholder management. One key point- despite all these skills, the most important qualities I took away from CFS was passion, love and unity across a team for one common cause (also, some hard work!)
Currently: I graduated from Western/ Ivey in 2015. I took a month to travel South East Asia in May 2015, then began a career in Retail Consulting at Accenture in Toronto. Retail has always been my passion- from Western classes and extra-curriculars to my career today. Outside of work, I travel as much as possible, am learning French and have an opinion about nearly every restaurant in Toronto!

Leave a Reply

